Stephen Pratt receives prestigious awards

Stephen Pratt

Stephen Pratt, professor of music and chair of the Department of Bands, received the Outstanding Hoosier Musician Award on Jan. 12 at the Indiana Music Education Association’s (IMEA) annual professional development conference in Fort Wayne. The award gives recognition to an individual who has contributed to the advancement of music education in the state of Indiana and who has contributed outstanding service to local, state and national music organizations.

The award was presented by Lissa May, associate dean of instruction at the Jacobs School of Music and former president of IMEA, and Kevin Gerrity, associate professor of music education at Ball State University and current president of IMEA.

In addition, Pratt recently received the Paula Crider Outstanding Band Director Award from the national council of Tau Beta Sigma. The award is presented to those college and university band directors who have distinguished themselves in the field of university bands and also support and promote the purposes and qualities of Tau Beta Sigma. The award may be given once every biennium in conjunction with the national convention.

The award ceremony took place at the Tau Beta Sigma reception at the Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinic in Chicago on Dec. 21. The award was presented by Kyle R. Glaser, Tau Beta Sigma national vice-president for professional relations and associate director of bands at Texas State University-San Marcos, and Jonathan Markowski, Tau Beta Sigma national president.

Pratt will retire at the end of the 2017-18 academic year, after 34 years on faculty at the Jacobs School of Music. His final concert as a Jacobs faculty member will be at 3 p.m. on Sunday, April 15, in the Musical Arts Center.

Comments are closed.