Julian Orbon

Julián Orbón (1925-1991)

Obituary, New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/1991/05/23/obituaries/julian-orbon-65-cuban-composer-pianist-and-critic.html

Julián Orbón Collection at the Lilly Library:


  • DATE RANGE: ca. 1930-1991
  • ITEM COUNT: ca. 800 items
  • The Orbon mss. consist of musical compositions, writings, photographs, etc. of Cuban composer Julian Orbon.
  • Note: This collection has not yet been processed.

Sound Recordings

Available for listening online at the Cook Music Library with authorized login (Access information is provided on your registration packets under Variations System Access):

1) Title: Tres versiones sinfónicas [sound recording] / Julián Orbón. Bachiana brasileira : no. 2 / Heitor Villa-Lobos. Mediodía en el llano / Antonio Estévez. Sinfonía india / Carlos Chávez.

Published/Produced: 1 sound disc : digital ; 4 3/4 in.

Performer: Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela ; Eduardo Mata, conductor.

Recording info.: Recorded at the Aula Magna, Universidad Central de Venezuela, Caracas, Nov. 1992 and July 1993.

Sound recording:

URL: [Bloomington] http://purl.dlib.indiana.edu/iudl/iucat/AJN3440 (Available to authorized users of the Variations System)

2) Title: String quartets [sound recording] = Cuartetos para cuerdas / Villa-Lobos … [et al.].

Published/Produced: Adelphi, Md. : Elan, [1991], p1990.

Performer: Cuarteto Latinoamericano (Saul Bitrán, Aron Bitrán, violins ; Javier Montiel, viola ; Alvaro Bitrán, cello).

Recording info.: Recorded Mar. 1990, in Carnegie Free Library Concert Hall, Carnegie, Pa.

Contents: String quartet no. 5 / Heitor Villa-Lobos (15:05) — String quartet no. 2, op. 26 : revised version / Alberto Ginastera (24:52) — Reflejos de la noche / Mario Lavista (10:39) — String quartet / Julián Orbón (17:00).

Sound recording:

URL: [Bloomington] http://purl.dlib.indiana.edu/iudl/iucat/ADA8205 (Available to authorized users of the Variations System)

Comments are closed.