Newsletter 12-2014


(* Starred events are REQUIRED for IU composition students.)


Tuesday, December 2, 8:00pm, Auer Hall


Wednesday, December 3, 4:00pm, Ford Hall

Oscar Bianchi


Thursday, December 4, 9:00am-12:00pm, JS 311

* NEW MUSIC ENSEMBLE (AH) – David Dzubay, director; Oscar Bianchi, guest composer; Madalyn Parnas, violin

Thursday, December 4, 8:00pm, Auer Hall

Oscar Bianchi: Anahata Concerto (2008)
Sven-David Sandström: Force and Beauty (2014, premiere)


Sunday, December 7, 8:00pm, Auer Hall

PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA (MAC) – Arthur Fagen, conductor; Emilio Colón, Eric Kim, and Peter Stumpf, cello

Wednesday, December 10, 8:00pm, Musical Arts Center

Krzysztof Penderecki: Concerto Grosso for three cellos and orchestra (2000)
Alexander Borodin: Symphony No. 2 in B Minor


Yieeun ChunYie-Eun Chun’s Music to be Programmed by the Juventas New Music Ensemble

Yie-Eun Chun’s Urban Polyphony has been chosen by the Juventas New Music Ensemble in the Call for Scores for their 2014-2015 season performances.


Elliot BarkElliott Bark (DM ’13) wins the Korean National Composer Prize

Elliott Bark’s (Com)Passionate Music for Guitar and String Quartet (commissioned by Petar Jankovic Ensemble) received the 2014 Korean National Composer Prize in the chamber music category. This is the second time Bark has received the award, following his 2012 win in the orchestral category for his flute concerto, Shalom.

david jonesNew Album Release of David Jones’ (DM ’95) Music

Dr. David P. Jones, who currently teaches music at Peninsula College in Washington State, has a composition included on the new CD, Nevolution by Michael Tunnell, corno di caccia, and Meme Tunnell, piano. The composition, cOrNoPeia, an 18-minute duet that was commissioned by the performers in 2010 is featured on the new disc on the Centaur label (CRC 3397). Michael Tunnell is a Distinguished Teaching Professor of Music and University Scholar at the University of Louisville. He performs with the Louisville Brass, the Louisville Bach Society, and the Louisville Orchestra. This marks the twelfth commercial disc on which Dr. Jones’ music appears (Catalyst-BMG, Summit, Centaur, Coronet and EWU Records in USA, Polymnie in France, and Nosag in Sweden).

ben taylorElectroacoustic Miniatures by Benjamin Taylor (DM ’14) and Melody Eötvös (DM ’14) to be Released on new SEAMUS Album

Electroacoustic Miniatures by Benjamin Taylor and Melody Eötvös will be featured on the latest SEAMUS Electro-Acoustic Miniatures recording project, Transients, The jury, which included Benjamin Taylor (chair), Christopher Chandler, and Kevin Ernste selected seventeen composers for inclusion on this year’s album. In addition to evaluating the submissions, the members of the committee also devised the theme and were given an opportunity to include their own realization of the theme. Included in this years album are: Andrew Babcock, Cody Brookshire, Ryan Carter, Christopher Chandler, Melody Eötvös, Larry Matthew Gaab, Doug Geers, Robert Gibson, Jon Hallstrom, Mitchell Herrmann, Simon Hutchinson, Cody Kauhl, Panayiotis Kokoras, John Nichols III, Zach Sheets, Josh Simmons, Andrew Martin Smith, Benjamin Taylor, and Maxwell Tfirn. As in previous years, the album will be available on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, etc., and through CD Baby. Each of the previous year’s albums are now available to everyone at CD Baby for free. You can download last year’s album here.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Comments are closed.