Newsletter 05-2014


JSoMfaculty2014 Dean’s Prize Winners Announced

The faculty of the Jacobs School of Music Composition Department is pleased to announce results for the following annual internal competitions.


Category A (Orchestra or Wind Ensemble, $500 prize):

Sang Mi Ahn, Valley of Dry Bones, for orchestra

Category B (Chamber/Ensemble, $1000 prize and commission for a new work to be premiered by the New Music Ensemble in 2014-15):

Jay Hurst, Grand Guignol, for sinfonietta

Category C (Undergraduate, $300 prize):
Will Rowe, Secessionist Subjects, for violin and piano

Category D (Electronic, $300 prize):
Louis Goldford, Grand Sepia Taksim

($1000 prize and commission for a new work for voice and ensemble to be premiered by the New Music Ensemble in 2014-15):

Yie-Eun Chun, Urban Polyphony & Game of Fives


$500, Maya Nojiri, cello
$300, Heath White, flute
$200, Nick Morandi, clarinet of Sang Mi Ahn’s works in San Francisco, Seoul, and Berlin

Sang Mi Ahn’s Narval was recently presented at the Sweet Thunder Festival of Electro-Acoustic Music at the Fort Mason Center in San Francisco on April 24-27.
In May, her Hwae Sang (Remembrance) will receive its Korean Premiere by violinists Bo-Yun Lee and Won-Soon Chung at Recital Hall in Seoul Arts Center.
In June, Sang Mi’s Permission to Engage will be presented with a solar-cell powered and WLAN controlled multichannel sound-installation system (12-channel) in Berlin. Read more…

melodyeotvos_headshot-u1414Melody Eötvös and Max Grafe (BM 2012) Accepted into the June 2014 Readings and Performance by NY Philharmonic and American Composers Orchestra

The New York Philharmonic and American Composers Orchestra, in collaboration with ACO’s EarShot: the National Orchestra Composition Discovery Network, have announced the selection of 13 emerging composers whose original scores for orchestra have been chosen for readings and performances by the Philharmonic and ACO. They were selected from an international pool of more than 400 applicants from 37 states and 7 additional countries and ranging in age from 9 to 84. Read more…

Carlo-Vincetti-FrizzoThree IU Composers Named Finalists in C4 Commissioning Competition

All three finalists of the 2014-15 C4 Commissioning Competition are IU composers: Gordon Williamson (recent DM student), Carlo Frizzo (current DM student), and Texu Kim (current DM student). Their pieces will be premiered in March 2015. They were chosen from over 300 composers submitting works. Congratulations to all!

Texu_KimTexu Kim Appointed Composer-in-Residence at Korean Symphony Orchestra

Texu Kim has been appointed Composer-in-Residence at Korean Symphony Orchestra, which will premiere two orchestral works in 2015.

2014 Provost's Award winnersWill Rowe Honored for Research and Creative Activity

Will Rowe was one of five IU students to receive the Provost’s Award for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity, recognizing exceptional and original academic work.
Read more…

ben taylorBen Taylor’s Digital Goldfish Receives European Premiere

Benjamin Taylor’s saxophone quartet Digital Goldfish was performed at the Scandinavian Saxophone Festival on Thursday, April 17, 2014 at Musikhuset in Aarhus/Denmark. The ensemble will consist of: Claus Olesen – soprano saxophone, Joonatan Rautiola – alto saxophone, Martin Eriksson – tenor saxophone, Johannes Thorell – baritone saxophone. Listen to Ben’s music here.

jess-turnerJess Turner Residency and Premiere

Jess Turner is to be the composer-in-residence at the University of Wisconsin – LaCrosse from Ap. 30 to May 2. Five of Jess’ works for wind ensemble as well as his brass quintet will be performed during that time. In addition, the premiere of Jess’ Reanimations for two solo trumpets and wind ensemble will take place on Tues., May 20 at the International Trumpet Guild’s annual conference at West Chester University, West Chester, PA.


nicholascline.picNicholas Cline (MM 2013) Featured Composer-in-residence at High Concept Laboratories

Nicholas Cline will be the Summer 2014 composer-in-residence at High Concept Laboratories. He will present a series of talks, workshops, and performances of a new work for percussion and electronics that explores Midwestern earthquakes through sonification and spatialization.
Other recent performances include Homage to La Monte Young (4-channel playback) at the Sweet Thunder Festival of Electro-Acoustic Music on April 24 alongside several IU composers. In June, he will present grainstream (8-channel playback) at the Sound in the Land Conference at the University of Waterloo, Canada.

LubellGabe Lubell’s (DM 2013) Record Release!

Gabriel Lubell’s new album of recent chamber works will be released in Bloomington on Saturday, May 3, and beyond shortly after. The album will be available for download and as a special pressing on color vinyl. It features the Tesla quartet performing his Study of Luminous Objects, Heidi Radtke Siberz in work for saxophone and string quintet, and Jim, Jimi, and James: a work for 18 musicians, performed by an ensemble under the direction of Brett A. Richardson. Independently produced, the album was recorded and mixed professionally in Bloomington and New York and is the first commercial release of Lubell’s music.

Tim-MillerUpdate from Tim Miller (DM 2013)

Tim Miller’s Three Junes was recently performed by the Indiana University Southeast Concert Band on April 13, 2014 at the Ogle Cultural and Community Center in New Albany, IN. Miller is currently serving as an adjunct faculty in music theory at Indiana University Southeast. Read more…

Miller has also recently founded a new experimental music group called Eight.dB based in Louisville, KY and the group’s premiere performance is scheduled for this Summer in Louisville, KY. Updates and information about Eight.dB can be found at the group’s Facebook page.

matthewpetersonMatthew Peterson (MM 2008) Wins Uppsala tonsättartävling Competition

Matthew Peterson charmed both the jury and the audience in Uppsala [Sweden] at the finals of the biannual young composer’s contest. He was the big winner in this year’s edition of Uppsala tonsättartävling. He is 29 years old and comes from North Dakota, USA . The American who works in Sweden won both the jury and audience award, with his [chamber orchestra] work And all the trees of the field will clap their hands.
In addition to the honor and recognition, Peterson receives 50,000 kronor and performances by ten professional orchestras in Sweden and Estonia. In addition, [as winner of the public prize] his work will be rebroadcast on Swedish Radio P2.

The award, funded by Uppland’s Music and Uppsala Chamber Orchestra, was open to composers born 1978 or later.

Second prize went to Swedish David Riebe and Molly Kien, another American, took Bronze. The jury included, among others, composers Sven-David Sandström and Mirjam Tally.
Matthew Peterson has studied at the Gotland School of Music Composition and Indiana University School of Music. He is a freelance composer based in Stockholm.

Natalie WilliamsNatalie Williams (DM 2012) appointed as SCI National Student Chapters Coordinator

Jacobs School alumnus, Natalie Williams, was recently appointed as the National Student Chapters Coordinator for the SCI (Society of Composers, Inc.). The Student Chapter Coordinator serves as the liaison between SCI and SCI Student Chapters. The Coordinator provides guidance to SCI Student Chapter leaders and faculty sponsors, develops and implements visioning, and aligns with the SCI secretary to provide administrative services, including regional and national SCI student conferences. Natalie will take on this role in April, 2014.

Read more…

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Comments are closed.