Newsletter 05-2012


May 2012


to the e-newsletter from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music Composition Department. Please forward this newsletter to colleagues, students, and other interested parties in Bloomington and elsewhere.

Alumni: Please make sure that you are listed correctly on our Alumni page and send any updated information to the coordinator.

Congratulations to all the student composers for a truly outstanding year.  Best wishes for summer!


Francisco Cortés Álvarez – Canta y no llores – Dean’s Prize Commission. New Music Ensemble, David Dzubay

Congratulations to Tonia Ko and Francisco Cortés Álvarez for their recent premieres with the New Music Ensemble. Francisco received his commision as part of the Dean’s Prize category B award in 2011, for which he composed his terrific Canta y no llores. Tonia received the 2011 Georgina Joshi Composition Commission Award culminating in a very successful premiere of her Many Splendid Forgettings, for tenor and chamber ensemble.

Ryan Chase

Ryan Chase and Benjamin Taylor have been selected to participate in theAmerican Composers Orchestra’s 21st Annual Underwood New Music Readings. They were chosen to be a part of a group of 6 composers drawn nationally and from among more than 250 submissions. Following the readings, one composer will be chosen to receive a $15,000 commission to write a new piece for ACO, to be premiered during the orchestra’s 2013-2014 season.


Ryan’s work, The Light Fantastic, also received the 2012 Dean’s Prize – category A.

Michael Sweeney is one of the 2012 recipients of the Morton Gould Young Composers Award, awarded to him for his composition Mr. Brain. Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 – 1994. Gould, an eminent and versatile American composer, was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. To honor Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996.
Elliott Bark

Elliott Bark’s Reminiscence and Bach to the Future (both for string orchestra) will be performed by Orchestra Eleazar de Carvalho under the baton of Maestro Laercio Diniz on May 11 in Fortaleza, Brazil.


John Glover (BM 2005) is one of three composers to be selected for the First Music program. Through its First Music program, the New York Youth Symphony has selected seven of America’s emerging orchestra, chamber music, and jazz composers under age 30 to write commissions for the NYYS’ 50th Anniversary Season. The works will be premiered by NYYS student musicians on their performances at Carnegie Hall, Jazz @ Lincoln Center, and Weill Recital Hall.
Brendan Faegre (MM 2010), currently residing in the Netherlands, has founded theBrendan Faegre Edge Ensemble, a semi-improvisational group where he acts as composer-percussionist-bandleader. He was also asked to be the 2012 Composer-in-residence for the Lake George Music Festival this August, where they will premiere the full 4-movement version of Four Koans and perform The Circular Ruins. In addition Brendon was also selected to participate (as a Netherlands representative) in the European Composers’ Professional Development Programme, which will culminate in a new work for the Italian group Icarus Ensemble, to be premiered at the 2012 Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.


Natalie Williams

Natalie Williams (DM 2012) has recently received a commission from the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, for a new work to be premiered in 2013. The piece will receive three performances as part of their regional tour in November 2013, conducted by Ben Northey.


Sven-David Sandström

The Composition department is very pleased to announce that composer Sven-David Sandström will be teaching at IU during the 2012-2013 academic year as a sabbatical replacement for Don Freund in fall and for David Dzubay in spring. Professor Sandström previously taught composition at IU from 1999-2008 and the department looks forward to his return.


Professor Sandström just delivered a score to a brand new work he composed for the IU New Music Ensemble to premiere during fall 2012 – Five Fantasy Pieces for Ensemble.

David Dzubay, Chair
Composition Department
Indiana University Jacobs School of Music


Composition Department
Center for Electronic and Computer Music
Admissions & Financial Aid
New Music Ensemble
Student Composers Association

To be added or removed from this mailing list, or to submit corrections or additional events, please send a note to the Music Composition Coordinator at

JSoM facebook Fanfare! JSoM Twitter JSoM News JSoM Mailing List
Copyright© 2012 The Trustees of Indiana University
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Comments are closed.