2012 Solo Harp Composition Contest winner announced

After reviewing 81 compositions for solo harp, submitted by composers from 24 different countries, USA International Harp Competition, Inc. announces the 2012 Solo Harp Composition Contest winner.

In first place is “De l’obscurité II” composed by Benjamin Attahir (Toulouse, France).

Currently under commission by the Lucerne Festival, Attahir studied composition, conducting, and violin at the Paris Conservatoire. He has won many composition prizes, including the Concours Général, SACEM, and the International Rostrum of Composers UNESCO.

Attahir’s first-place prize includes a $2,000 award funded by a grant from the American Harp Society, and publication of his composition by Lyon & Healy Publications. “De l’obscurité II” will be required repertoire in Stage 3 of the 9th USA International Harp Competition, which will take place at the Jacobs School of Music July 10-20, 2013.

The jury wishes to acknowledge and congratulate the following composers, whose works were also in the final round:

  • What is Danced…(and what is not) by Eric Chasalow (USA)
  • Storm’s Morrow by Amit Gilutz (Israel)
  • Chants by Viktor Hartobanu (Germany)
  • Indiana by Andres Izmaylov (Russian Federation)
  • Shindychew Dances by Stephen Taylor (USA)
  • The Curl-up by Alan Thomas (United Kingdom)

The international jury for the Composition Contest consisted of Jacobs faculty composer  Claude Baker (USA) and the following distinguished harpists: Deborah Fleisher (USA), Alice Giles (Australia), Katerina Gima (Greece), Ruth Inglefield – Jury Chair (USA), Bridget Kibbey (USA), and Naoko Yoshino (Japan).

The USA International Harp Competition gratefully acknowledges itsgenerous sponsors: the American Harp Society, the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, and Lyon & Healy Harps.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Comments are closed.